Linn Forums

Current time: 2014-10-24, 14:29 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn / Sondek LP12 v / New Kid on the Block - My First Linn

New Kid on the Block - My First Linn
2014-02-11, 21:43
Smile New Kid on the Block - My First Linn
Hello everyone.
I'm new to both Linn and this amazing forum of passionate, knowledgable folks. Really buzzed to get back into vinyl after a 20 year break. I've aways wanted to own a Linn but knew nothing about the vast array if option available. So I spend many weeks reviewing the extensive catalogue of invaluable information on this forum. Also chatted with a variety of Linn experts including Peter at Cymbiosis, Johnny7, and Mick at Audio Origami, they were all so helpful. Also scoured Linn dealers and eventually EBay to ground myself on what was out there and typical prices, soon realised that prices varied dramatically!
I eventually took the plunge and bid on a couple of items last weekend on EBay since I wasn't sure I'd win either, I won both! 1st one is a Sondek/Ittok (39xxxx) plus a Troika cartidge which turned out to be in excellent condition. It works very smoothly, the deck bearing are very quiet, and having balanced the arm I checked the bearings, following various advice from Linn folks, and they seem silky smooth and move very freely. The 2nd is an immaculate Sondek(59xxxx) but no arm, this one is a very pale walnut and looks absolutely mint.
I carefully set-up the complete system and it sounds amazing. My albums come to life and so did I. I'd forgotten how nice it was to put an album on and sit down and listen to it in its without track jumping. Both decks have the black bearing with white inners and black springs.
The big question which I need your help with is how do I decide which one to keep. The complete set-up or the immaculate deck and transfer the arm? Appreciate any advice you can provide on my amazing quest.
StevieCool
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-02-11, 21:59