Linn Forums

Current time: 2014-11-23, 09:24 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn / Linn DS v / New System plan... any comments please?

Post Reply 
New System plan... any comments please?
2014-08-06, 00:26
Post: #1
New System plan... any comments please?
hi, any comments welcome on topology, components, will it work [well]?

thanks

[Image: hifi.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-06, 00:31
Post: #2
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
(2014-08-06 00:26)Konnectoid Wrote:  hi, any comments welcome on topology, components, will it work [well]?

thanks

[Image: hifi.png]

You'll want to connect the ADSM to the NetGear switch directly - rather than the HP. Unless you have some sort of firewalling going on (which shouldn't be needed).

Regards, Mike
_____________________________________________________
Klimax DSM, Klimax Chakra 500 Twin, B&W CM8, QNAP TS-879
(6x4TB WD Red), MinimServer, iPad Air, Sonos: ZP90, ZP120
Sneaky DSM w/Magik 109's
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-06, 08:37
Post: #3
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
(2014-08-06 00:31)MikeSpragg Wrote:  You'll want to connect the ADSM to the NetGear switch directly - rather than the HP. Unless you have some sort of firewalling going on (which shouldn't be needed).

The NetGear is a Router, therefore I would recommend to connect the ADSM, HP Proliant and N750 to an additional switch, e.g. NetGear GS105GE

See also

http://docs.linn.co.uk/wiki/index.php/DS...End_System

Cheers Claus

Mostly Scotland and some Sweden
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-06, 16:47
Post: #4
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
Have not come across the Giso DS before - how helpful do you find it?

EKDSM E350 ACD/d Silvers
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-06, 22:07
Post: #5
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
(2014-08-06 16:47)LinnKiwi Wrote:  Have not come across the Giso DS before - how helpful do you find it?

thanks for the helpful comments; kiwi the Giso looks promising (haven't auditioned one - it's now in dotted lines on my plan); have been reading about it here:

http://www.acousence.de/index.php?option...90&lang=en

http://jplay.eu/forum/computer-audio/lan...rs/page-3/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-07, 00:18
Post: #6
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
The Giso DS is a galvanic isolator for Ethernet. IIRC galvanic isolation is part of the Ethernet interface spec so there is no need for the Giso DS.

Vic
Ivor's "Tune-Dem Seminar" Alumni
Main: AK-0/ADS-0/2250/AV5125/AV5140s/Rythmik Audio F12SE Sub/Furman Elite 15i PF Linear Filter
Cave: LP12/Ekos/Arkiv/Lingo/Creek OBH-15/Sonos ZP90/PS Audio DL III DAC/Direktor/Katans
Spares: 2250/Ittok LVII/Karma/NAIT 5i/Cyrus One/Rega Kytes & R1
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-07, 02:51
Post: #7
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
I wonder what it is attempting to isolate. Must be the rest of the world, including the downstream equipment and its innards. If that is the case, then I agree with Konnectoid - it is quite promising.

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-07, 09:59
Post: #8
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
As a matter of interest, what are you running on the HP Proliant?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-07, 12:13 (This post was last modified: 2014-08-07 12:14 by tomscrut.)
Post: #9
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
(2014-08-07 00:18)vicdiaz Wrote:  The Giso DS is a galvanic isolator for Ethernet. IIRC galvanic isolation is part of the Ethernet interface spec so there is no need for the Giso DS.

You mean in the way that ethernet cables from my Intel NUC do not create ground loops in everything in my network, but the HDMI ouput creates ground loops with anything plugged in downstream of my Onkyo AVR? And that I have a galvanic isolator between my Onkyo and my CP-800 for that exact reason.

Intel i5 NUC (Akasa Tesla H fanless case & HD Plex LPS) -> USB -> Classe CP-800 (Rev 2)-> Classe CA-2300 -> B&W 802 Diamonds

Lots of AV stuff too!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2014-08-07, 21:31
Post: #10
RE: New System plan... any comments please?
(2014-08-07 12:13)tomscrut Wrote:  You mean in the way that ethernet cables from my Intel NUC do not create ground loops in everything in my network, but the HDMI ouput creates ground loops with anything plugged in downstream of my Onkyo AVR? And that I have a galvanic isolator between my Onkyo and my CP-800 for that exact reason.
Tried connecting the two chassis by a wire instead of having two ground planes?

Boring stuff->Linn Blacks->More boring stuff
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)