Linn Forums

Current time: 2018-07-19, 09:06 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn Music Systems & Hi-fi Separates / Network Music Players & Music Streamers / Exakt v / Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM

Post Reply 
Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
2017-07-31, 14:41
Post: #21
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
(2017-07-31 14:29)DavidHB Wrote:  
(2017-07-31 13:55)timster Wrote:  Oh yes. It was to test if the network was blocking discovery of the openhome player. The old kazoo would also work. Not sure how you multi-room in kinsky?

With Kinsky you can check the network discovery (though for that I prefer the apps to be on different devices, just to be sure). AFAIK, you can't group rooms in Kinsky. Can you Songcast to multiple rooms? I don't know, because I don't use Songcast.

David

I don't use songcast either, although it's installed. But I doubt you can, it's what the multi-room function is for - you songcast to one, and then you group that one with any others you want it to play on.

As for the Harvey - seeing as the point is for him to be able to use headphones, and he'll have to do that via his computer, I don't suppose it really matters if he just uses the (old) kazoo on the same machine to do the grouping and control the volumes etc.

♫ ♫ Akurate EDSM | AEBox10 [on Custom Design iRAPs] | M6100+2100 | Majik 140 [on alu stands] | REL T5
♫ ♫ Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-07-31, 17:52
Post: #22
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
(2017-07-31 14:41)timster Wrote:  
(2017-07-31 14:29)DavidHB Wrote:  
(2017-07-31 13:55)timster Wrote:  Oh yes. It was to test if the network was blocking discovery of the openhome player. The old kazoo would also work. Not sure how you multi-room in kinsky?

With Kinsky you can check the network discovery (though for that I prefer the apps to be on different devices, just to be sure). AFAIK, you can't group rooms in Kinsky. Can you Songcast to multiple rooms? I don't know, because I don't use Songcast.

David

I don't use songcast either, although it's installed. But I doubt you can, it's what the multi-room function is for - you songcast to one, and then you group that one with any others you want it to play on.



As for the Harvey - seeing as the point is for him to be able to use headphones, and he'll have to do that via his computer, I don't suppose it really matters if he just uses the (old) kazoo on the same machine to do the grouping and control the volumes etc.

timster
Oh dear I might have to use empirical methods here i.e. keep playing until I get it right. My knowledge appears to be providing a boundary that needs breaking
1 Openhome is installed on computer I have it in programs and even the uninstall option
2 computer is windows 10
3 installed old Kazoo for windows Vista up to windows 7 still no success.
4 I have a Kiko that is connected to PC and use Kiko for output from PC. No music stored on PC
5 Bubble DS cannot test on PC as not for windows
6 There is no Openhome for Android
7 is it possible to use a Pi as there is Openhome for Pi. Would that work?
Thankyou to all that are trying to help.

Harvey and Pookah
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-07-31, 18:37
Post: #23
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
If Harvey is happy to do his headphone listening from the computer, I'd suggest the following.

Use the computer as a renderer, with OpenHome Player as the engine. To get better sound from the computer, use a USB DAC of some description. Then get over the bug in Kazoo by using, say, BubbleDS on a phone or tablet as the controller. An odd arrangement, but quite usable.

With regard to DACs, I have experimented with an Audioquest Dragonfly, which I bought on sale at half price because it was the old model, and this drives my Grado PS500 headphones very well. You may need to fiddle a bit with driver selection in the audio controller dialog, but otherwise its plug and play. The sound quality is not up to Exakt standards, but then IMO no headphone listening is. And the Dragonfly does not cost an arm and a leg.

One thing that this thread demonstrates is that there are advantages other than cost to sticking with the Akurate level. The ADSM has a very nice Class A amplified headphone output. Job done ...

David

Main system: [LP12* > Lejonklou Gaio >][Roksan Kandy Mk III >] KEDSM > Akurate Exaktbox 10/1 > Linn Silvers> A4200 x 2 and A2200 > K600 > Akubariks.
*LP12: 1987 fluted plinth; Cirkus; Lingo 4; Trampolin; Kore; Basik Plus arm; K5 cartridge, Paratrace stylus.

Second system: Kiko.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-07-31, 19:23
Post: #24
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
(2017-07-31 17:52)Harvey and his Pookah Wrote:  
(2017-07-31 14:41)timster Wrote:  
(2017-07-31 14:29)DavidHB Wrote:  
(2017-07-31 13:55)timster Wrote:  Oh yes. It was to test if the network was blocking discovery of the openhome player. The old kazoo would also work. Not sure how you multi-room in kinsky?

With Kinsky you can check the network discovery (though for that I prefer the apps to be on different devices, just to be sure). AFAIK, you can't group rooms in Kinsky. Can you Songcast to multiple rooms? I don't know, because I don't use Songcast.

David

I don't use songcast either, although it's installed. But I doubt you can, it's what the multi-room function is for - you songcast to one, and then you group that one with any others you want it to play on.



As for the Harvey - seeing as the point is for him to be able to use headphones, and he'll have to do that via his computer, I don't suppose it really matters if he just uses the (old) kazoo on the same machine to do the grouping and control the volumes etc.

timster
Oh dear I might have to use empirical methods here i.e. keep playing until I get it right. My knowledge appears to be providing a boundary that needs breaking
1 Openhome is installed on computer I have it in programs and even the uninstall option
2 computer is windows 10
3 installed old Kazoo for windows Vista up to windows 7 still no success.
4 I have a Kiko that is connected to PC and use Kiko for output from PC. No music stored on PC
5 Bubble DS cannot test on PC as not for windows
6 There is no Openhome for Android
7 is it possible to use a Pi as there is Openhome for Pi. Would that work?
Thankyou to all that are trying to help.

Hi Harvey.
I am confused on a few levels here. There is no reason I can see that the OpenHome player can't be seen by Kazoo/Kinsky, unless the PC is somehow not connected to the network. Also, when you say you have a Kiko connected to the PC - I presume you mean it is on the network, rather than directly connected to it.
But the Kiko means the whole thing may be academic. The Kiko has a headphone jack. So you can disregard the OpenHome player entirely. Just add the Kiko to the Klimax's group, and use the Kiko's heaphone jack. Unless the Kiko is less accessible than the PC?

♫ ♫ Akurate EDSM | AEBox10 [on Custom Design iRAPs] | M6100+2100 | Majik 140 [on alu stands] | REL T5
♫ ♫ Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-01, 06:17
Post: #25
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
timster and DavidHB

Thank you for your help and we are there! I can recognise OpenHome
as follows:
1 On latest Kazoo OpenHome does not show, as advised by DavidHB.
2 Named PC shows on old version Kazoo and on Kinsky. OpenHome states program will come up as the name of the PC on which OpenHome is installed.
3 On the network OpenHome is indicated by Softplayer (that is OpenHome).
4 On Android tablet OpenHome is indicated by Softplayer .

Please forgive me for stating above what you both already knew, but hoped it would provide clarity of what is going on this end.

So now it should be plain sailing by just grouping as timster states OpenHome to a Linn DSM. I can choose either the Kiko, Majik or Klimax. I appreciate the Majik and Kiko have headphone sockets but are not in suitable locations. I already have oppo HA-2se and obviously headphones.

I apologise if I gave you the runaround re OpenHome not showing up earlier. This morning I cleared the decks reinstalled OpenHome and all worked.

You help and support just shows how valuable the forum is and how help provided by the members of the forum.

Harvey and Pookah
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-01, 07:05
Post: #26
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
(2017-08-01 06:17)Harvey and his Pookah Wrote:  timster and DavidHB

Thank you for your help and we are there! I can recognise OpenHome
as follows:
1 On latest Kazoo OpenHome does not show, as advised by DavidHB.
2 Named PC shows on old version Kazoo and on Kinsky. OpenHome states program will come up as the name of the PC on which OpenHome is installed.
3 On the network OpenHome is indicated by Softplayer (that is OpenHome).
4 On Android tablet OpenHome is indicated by Softplayer .

Please forgive me for stating above what you both already knew, but hoped it would provide clarity of what is going on this end.

So now it should be plain sailing by just grouping as timster states OpenHome to a Linn DSM. I can choose either the Kiko, Majik or Klimax. I appreciate the Majik and Kiko have headphone sockets but are not in suitable locations. I already have oppo HA-2se and obviously headphones.

I apologise if I gave you the runaround re OpenHome not showing up earlier. This morning I cleared the decks reinstalled OpenHome and all worked.

You help and support just shows how valuable the forum is and how help provided by the members of the forum.

That's great news Smile You can now enjoy all your vinyl on your headphones! Super duper.
Just so you know - for any network music (NAS, radio, Tidal etc.) you can use openhome by itself as it is a standalone software "streamer". You can access it's configuration in Konfig as you can the DS's - particularly useful for the TuneIn login. You can also change it's name (softplayer seems to be it's default) and the "room" name.
Glad to have been of help (ish).

♫ ♫ Akurate EDSM | AEBox10 [on Custom Design iRAPs] | M6100+2100 | Majik 140 [on alu stands] | REL T5
♫ ♫ Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-12-20, 12:09
Post: #27
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
Has anyone had a listen to
PRO-JECT PRE BOX DIGITAL S2?

I'm kind of curious to listen to it and see how it performs with a EADSM and a pair of HD650 or Fidelio X2?

LP12 Lingo 3 Kore Ittok Adikt, AEDSM --> Majik Exaktbox I --> Majik 140
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-12-26, 13:02 (This post was last modified: 2017-12-26 13:02 by hultin.)
Post: #28
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
(2017-12-20 12:09)hultin Wrote:  Has anyone had a listen to
PRO-JECT PRE BOX DIGITAL S2?

I'm kind of curious to listen to it and see how it performs with a EADSM and a pair of HD650 or Fidelio X2?

Well it seems that no-one has had a listen - or perhaps everyone is enjoying their systems, and not thinking about further upgrades? Wink Or perhaps they had a visit from Santa with upgrade xyz?

As it seems I'm going to order a Pioneer U-05 from the UK instead of waiting for the Project to be available here in Sweden... (And the price for the Pioneer was almost 170 pounds cheaper in the UK than in Sweden (including insured freight...))

LP12 Lingo 3 Kore Ittok Adikt, AEDSM --> Majik Exaktbox I --> Majik 140
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-01-05, 16:36
Post: #29
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
Well - as it seems things happen, and what I thought would be a straightforward process turned out to be more complicated.....

After a few days of thinking I decided to buy a dedicated headphone amplifier, just to be able to upgrade the DAC later. When and if the technology changes I can change the DAC, and not the whole setup.

I bought a Schiit Jotunheim, to be able to have a balanced connection to and from it. The DAC turned out to be a Schiit as well, a Modi Multibit (a used one turned up just 40km from where I live ....)

I haven't connected it yet to my AEDSM, I'm listening to Marc Jordan via the USB-connection and I have to say that it sounds pretty good.... Smile
I'll connect it later to the AEDSM - I'll have to dig up a good coaxial cable first...

LP12 Lingo 3 Kore Ittok Adikt, AEDSM --> Majik Exaktbox I --> Majik 140
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-01-05, 19:28
Post: #30
RE: Headphone Amplifers for Exakt Only DSM
To shift this discussion slightly, one component all headphones need are good cables and FYI due to an eventual move that will require a longer headphone cable, on a lark and some on-line research, I picked up a 20' Audio Sensibility Impact SE headphone cable for my Sennheiser HD800 headphones. I currently have a pair of Cardas 10' headphone cables, which are vastly better than the stock Sennheiser cables. Well, to my surprise, the Audio Sensibility cable is much finer than the Cardas. There is much more detail with them than with the Cardas. Going back and forth, the Cardas now sounds veiled, and the finer details are somewhat muddied. Who knew? My applause to Audio Sensibility for their achievements. Audio Sensibility is a Canadian based company in Toronto Ontario.

Victrola 1922 Floor model.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)