Linn Forums

Current time: 2017-10-18, 04:54 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Meta / Off-topic v / CrashPlan to cease Home subscriptions

CrashPlan to cease Home subscriptions
2017-08-22, 17:50 (This post was last modified: 2017-08-22 17:51 by mickc.)
CrashPlan to cease Home subscriptions
Wasn't sure whether to post this in 'Network Players...' as most of my backups are music. So...

I've been using 'CrashPlan for Home' for a few years now. Always reliable and a great price at $59.99 for unlimited storage - my files currently amount to 2.2TB.

However, CrashPlan are moving to 'Pro' only.

It was costing $59.99 per year.

CrashPlan offer two (well, three, if you include not bothering at all) options, with reduced costs to tempt folk:-

1) Convert to an account at Carbonite - Carbonite is $269.99 annually ($134.99 for CrashPlan Home users) for 250GB, plus $99.99 ($79.99) per 100GB extra. I use 2.2TB so will need the basic package plus, say, ten lots of additional storage, which equals $134.99 + (10 * $79.99) = $934.89, which is a bit of a leap from the $59.99 I am currently paying!

2) Convert to CrashPlan Pro - free until current term runs out (in twelve months time) then 75% off for a year then $10 per device per month, so $120 a year. Also they will transfer data for me.

Looks like option B for me...

Anyone else with other (polite) suggestions? The attraction of option B is that I won't have to re-upload all my data.

Mick

LP12SE * KDS/3 * KK/1/D * Solos/1/D * Akubarik/P
MDSM/3 * Majik 109
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-22, 18:01
RE: CrashPlan to cease Home subscriptions
I assume this is your off site backup?

A friend and I sync data to each others NASs.
Another option is just buying an external harddrive and storing that out of the house.

Tin can telephone system.
2017-08-22, 18:21
(2017-08-22 18:01)Tin Wrote:  I assume this is your off site backup?

A friend and I sync data to each others NASs.