Linn Forums

Current time: 2017-10-22, 21:56 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn Music Systems & Hi-fi Separates / Network Music Players & Music Streamers v / Akurate DSM on WiFi

Post Reply 
Akurate DSM on WiFi
2017-09-28, 15:58
Post: #1
Akurate DSM on WiFi
I am about to become the proud owner of an Akurate DSm/0 to partner my LP12. My only issue is with connecting the ADSM to my network as I cannot easily use Ethernet where my ADSM will be located. The current WiFi network in the house is delivered using a pair of Unifi UAP-AC-LR-Lite access points to give complete coverage throughout the house. These are powered by a Toughswitch Pro which is connected to my BT Hub. The Wifi is 802.11ac and has been completely stable since installed. What I was thinking of using is an Apple Airport Extreme in network extender mode and plugging the ADSM into the extreme and so onto wifi.
Will this work and if so what other software will I need to allow the ADSM to access my itunes library.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-28, 16:16
Post: #2
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
I assume your iTunes library is on a PC/MAC? I have no idea how to access it directly from the network to your ADSM. I would recommend MinimServer instead, which you then access with Kazoo.

Also, I wouldn't recommend using Wifi between your ADSM and music library. It may well work and theory suggests it should, and coverage may be good, but speed and reliability can be a nightmare..... I would instead use powerline adapters if you really can't have a direct cable between switch and DSM, and between switch and wherever the music library resides.

My 2 cents anyway.

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [DS214play +Jitterbug, MinimServer], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 652(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-28, 16:48 (This post was last modified: 2017-09-29 11:49 by jethanger.)
Post: #3
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
I would agree with the Power line adapter/ homeplug solution I use it with a BT Router Seagate NAS and Kazoo with my Renew ADSM , it works fine.

Cymbiosis Black Ash LP12, Cirkus, Hercules, Tramp2, Linn Ittok VII, DV20X(L), Renew ADSM, 2xMajik 4100D, Aktiv Misos, Black ICs, K40 speaker cable
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-28, 17:05
Post: #4
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
I would recommend the following setup:

-- = Ethernet cable
--- = wireless

For non-hifi gear:
Internet -- ADSL-router (wifi, DHCP distributes IP's for non-hifi gear)

For DS and NAS:
Internet -- Netgear Nighthawk R7000 (separate wifi to which control point and Kazoo/Asset/minim is connected, DHCP distributes IP-addresses to hifi-gear) -- Netgear GS108T -- NAS and DS


The whole picture:
Internet -- ADSL-router -- Netgear Nighthawk R7000 --- (wireless to HIFI-room) --- Netgear Nighthawk R7000 -- Netgear GS108T -- NAS and DS

Run WDS (wireless distribution system) between the two Nighthawks.
Both Nighthawks send out the same wifi.

My system: LP12/Keel/Radikal/Ekos 2/Akiva/Akurate DSM1/Cisco WS-C2960-8TC-L/ QNAP 219P II / Kudos /2 x C6100-D/Akubarik (active bass).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-28, 17:19
Post: #5
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
Hi

For several years, I ran a MDSI (at my mum's house) from a wireless bridge back to a Cisco WAP and it worked flawlessly (even when streaming a 24/192 album). That was back in the 802.11g days (54 Mb/s wireless pipe) and in reality, that meant the data pipe was only about 34 Mb/s (on a sunny day and with the wind blowing in a favourable direction Tongue ).

Move forward to today and the Ubiquiti WAPs deal well with wireless bridges. Not so long ago, Ubiquiti made a great wee device called an AirGateway and I have often used these to connect people's Ethernet interfaced TV sets to their Ubiquity WAP. In fact, one of my friends owns two houses (about 10 metres apart) and we use an AirGateway to link one house back to the wireless Billion router in the other house).

I actually used a pair of AirGateway units to build a microwave link between my ADSL router and my main router (this was to facilitate an air gap should the phone line's potential be raised - with respect to the mains supply - by a nearby ground strike) and the two units ran flawlessly for a couple of years; never a glitch. Now, I use a fibre, but the wireless solution was absolutely fine and very robust.

Ubiquity no longer make that device, but if you search the www for 'wireless gaming adapter' you will find rakes of cheap devices that should do the job (thank you to a Ubiquiti forum for recommending that search term; being an old bugger, that would never have occurred to me).

So, if you have a good path between the wireless router and the DS (and no interference from other wireless sources) then it it is possible to use a bridge to feed a DS. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend any of these newer bridge devices as I simply have no experience of them, but they are pretty cheap, so if you try one and don't get good results (i.e. is stops working and needs a power cycle of the bridge to fix it) then try an alternative one to see if that fixes things.

Setting up a bridge can be rather tedious as when you do so and apply the settings, if you have made a mistake you cannot 'talk' to it (so need to hit the reset button and start again). For that reason, it makes sense to set up as far as you can go (before changing it to a bridge) then save that configuration file. That way, if it does go pear-shaped, you can reset it and apply the saved configuration file to get it back to the last point at which you could access it. Not doing it that way results in extreme Tourette's (trust me, I know that from experience)!!! Big Grin

Bri

PS A foot note: Some routers (like the BT Homehub) do work to a bridge (and a single device connected to that bridge) but if you instead plug that bridge into an Ethernet switch then plug several devices into that switch, only the first one to request its network credentials actually gets a DHCP IP address; the rest do not. This is because a Homehub (and some other wireless routers that I have experimented with) 'assume' that a wireless connection will only ever be to a single device (as in they are assuming 'why an earth would it require more than a single IP address?'). That is a limitation of the router firmware - not the 802.11 system architecture - and just for a laugh, I once associated a Ubiquity AirGateway bridge to a Billion wireless router, then I plugged the AirGateway into an 8 port Netgear switch, then into that I plugged three Linn DS units and two Qnap NAS units; all of them got their IP addresses and all of them actually worked (though I wouldn't in any way recommend that as being a sensible network design, but it was darned good fun - and really rather surprising - when it actually worked, though)! Big Grin

KDS/1 (music) + ADSM (AV) -> KK/1 -> 350A + miniDSP time & phase aligned 345 rear sub
KDS Renew -> Homebrew fixed attenuator -> 2250/D -> 212 and Sizmik front sub (bedroom)
MDSI -> 104C (awaiting installation in my kitchen)
MDSI -> Shahinian Arc (installed at my mum's house)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-28, 19:08 (This post was last modified: 2017-09-28 19:13 by fetish230.)
Post: #6
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
Hi,

Sorry, have no experience with the Unifi UAP-AC-LR-Lite but thought I'd share some info re the Apple APs.

I have been using various Apple Airport Extremes and Expresses feeding my three DSs (Klimax DS2/Sneaky DSM/Sneaky DS) over the years with excellent results (medium size apartment, lots of concrete walls…).

I am currently using the latest Extreme as main AP and have two Expresses and one Extreme set to wirelessly connect to the wifi network (not extend it). Then I just run a short cable from them to the respective DS. Very rarely if ever) have any problems, not even with 24/192 files. Everything is responsive and snappy on both Macs, iPads and iPhones and the DSs start playing almost instantly. When comparing wifi vs cable no-one can hear any difference whatsoever so that is of no concern to me either.

Summing up, I think you'll be fine with either an Express or Extreme.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-28, 19:28
Post: #7
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
(2017-09-28 19:08)fetish230 Wrote:  Hi,

Sorry, have no experience with the Unifi UAP-AC-LR-Lite but thought I'd share some info re the Apple APs.

I have been using various Apple Airport Extremes and Expresses feeding my three DSs (Klimax DS2/Sneaky DSM/Sneaky DS) over the years with excellent results (medium size apartment, lots of concrete walls…).

I am currently using the latest Extreme as main AP and have two Expresses and one Extreme set to wirelessly connect to the wifi network (not extend it). Then I just run a short cable from them to the respective DS. Very rarely if ever) have any problems, not even with 24/192 files. Everything is responsive and snappy on both Macs, iPads and iPhones and the DSs start playing almost instantly. When comparing wifi vs cable no-one can hear any difference whatsoever so that is of no concern to me either.

Summing up, I think you'll be fine with either an Express or Extreme.

Only reason for the extreme is because it is 802.11ac same as the unifi gear. Was thinking about trying a time machine and using it as a NAS but not having used linn's software yet, maybe next time. All my music is stored on a raid drive conected to a 8 core Mac Pro buit due in part to the design of the house everything other than the CCTV system runs on wifi. I can recommend the unifi AP's, best and most stable wifi equipment I have ever owned.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-29, 08:13
Post: #8
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
One of these will do the trick if wifi network ok - pain to setup as wireless receiver, but once done works a treat (also needs USB power which you may be able to get from another device near the DS). About £20 retail in UK

http://www.tp-link.com.au/products/detai...R802N.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-29, 11:32
Post: #9
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
Linn Kazoo Server running on the machine with your iTunes library will automatically find the music assuming a standard install of iTunes. Very easy and works well.

CJ

Main: Michell Orbe/SME V/Lyra Delos/CA 640p Oppo105 Marantz AV8801 Linn 5125 Dynamik Focal Diablo Utopia III Komponent106 Komponent104

Profession: Owner of Krescendo HiFi - Specialist in second hand Linn and Naim
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-09-29, 13:53
Post: #10
RE: Akurate DSM on WiFi
(2017-09-29 08:13)rockfather Wrote:  One of these will do the trick if wifi network ok - pain to setup as wireless receiver, but once done works a treat (also needs USB power which you may be able to get from another device near the DS). About £20 retail in UK

http://www.tp-link.com.au/products/detai...R802N.html

I wasn't aware of that model, so thank you for pointing it out. I still have some AirGateways left, but once my stock exhausts, I'll get one of these chaps and check it out as a replacement candidate (and it looks a lot neater, too). Smile

KDS/1 (music) + ADSM (AV) -> KK/1 -> 350A + miniDSP time & phase aligned 345 rear sub
KDS Renew -> Homebrew fixed attenuator -> 2250/D -> 212 and Sizmik front sub (bedroom)
MDSI -> 104C (awaiting installation in my kitchen)
MDSI -> Shahinian Arc (installed at my mum's house)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)