Linn Forums

Current time: 2017-10-23, 18:05 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn Music Systems & Hi-fi Separates / Troubleshooting v / Kazoo on QNAP

Post Reply 
Kazoo on QNAP
2017-10-02, 10:54 (This post was last modified: 2017-10-02 10:59 by Ketto.)
Post: #1
Kazoo on QNAP
Hello there,
i just bought (again) a Linn renew DS and I'm trying to install Kazoo server on my Qnap (TS-453 pro).
I tried to download both QNAP x86 and QNAP x86_64 versions (my NAS has a pentium processor) but I wasn't able to install none of them.

I sent an e.mail to Qnap support but their reply was: <<for Kazoo server issue you may refer to developer website or forum since the app is not develop by QNAP. we are not able to provide support for issue related to third-party apps>>

Going back to my issue, the error message I got by the NAS (as per picture attached) is:
<<Error 2017/09/16 16:18:30 System 127.0.0.1 localhost KazooServer 4.7.1215 installation failed. The following QPKG must be installed and enabled: Qmono >= 4.2.1.0.>>

not sure which file the system is requiring me..

should I just go for Minim?
or maybe Twonky?
my ultimate aim is to be able to browse my record collection with the "Album Artist" tag (like the good old days when we were all using Twonky with Briain's custom trees).

as for Twonky, just for you to know, the update by Qnap support team is the following:

the Twonky server is now supported by your nas model
The built-in Twonky can be enabled in the Control Panel -> DLNA Server page

Notes:
- The built-in Twonky version will stay at 8.3, it will not be updated in future.
- The next 4.3.3 release (v10) will also include Twonky support on below models.
TS-X80, TS-X80U, TS-X79U, TS-X71U, TS-X70U, TS-X69U

thanks a lot for your help
Marco


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

Rock 7/Groove SRX+, Renew DS/1, D'agostino, W/A Alexia
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 11:01
Post: #2
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
qmono is in the qnap app centre under developer tools

Sounds like this is what you need to install first. The error message is pretty clear.

CJ

Main: Michell Orbe/SME V/Lyra Delos/CA 640p Oppo105 Marantz AV8801 Linn 5125 Dynamik Focal Diablo Utopia III Komponent106 Komponent104

Profession: Owner of Krescendo HiFi - Specialist in second hand Linn and Naim
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 11:27
Post: #3
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
(2017-10-02 11:01)CJ1045 Wrote:  qmono is in the qnap app centre under developer tools

Sounds like this is what you need to install first. The error message is pretty clear.

CJ

thanks a lot CJ,
so basically qmono is an app? Smile

sorry but I'm really unexperienced when it comes to NAS (as well as many other tech-related issues).

would you say Kazoo is the best option for me?
thanks
Mc

Rock 7/Groove SRX+, Renew DS/1, D'agostino, W/A Alexia
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 11:51
Post: #4
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
It looks to me like that qmono needs to be added. I've looked at my QNAP and qmono is there. So search and download it. Like you I'm not that good this type of issue and most of what I have learned has been through need.
You'll find that everyone has the one that they find the best. My option is Twonky. Kazoo is good. It has search option that isn't available in Twonky. Others will come here and say that all you need is minim. I should add that if QNAP have withdrawn support for Twonky some time back and you may have to buy a licence key. See how you get on with Kazoo.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 12:34 (This post was last modified: 2017-10-02 12:39 by Briain.)
Post: #5
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
Hi

MinimServer is probably the best solution for you. Last time I looked at Kazoo (which was a very long time ago, so apologies if I have this wrong, or if Linn have since changed things) they had a fancy algorithm to use the albumartist value (in the artists container) where it was present, then when not present, they instead used the artist values. Whilst that is a great compromise, I need access to all of the above, so if you wish both an albumartist and artist menu item, MinimServer is the one for you (and it is a click and install via the Qnap web interface).

The only complication is that you need to install MinimWatch on a PC in order to set up the path to the music and to change the menus (if required; I can't remember what it comes set with by default) and that means you need to install Java on the PC. That is fine, but if you do that, be very careful to de-select any other third party trash that it offers during the installation process (otherwise it will be installed) then once you have installed Java, immediately access the Java control panel and make the below 2 changes to protect the security of your PC.

[Image: attachment.php?aid=11287]


So, you want to set them as is shown above. The first one does as it implies; removing that tick prevents your web browser(s) from having access to Java. There is no need for browsers to access Java (this is not the same as Javascript; that is built into the browser) and permitting browsers to access Java is extremely risky in terms of security (it is extremely stupid that it installs with that enabled, by default).

The second one prevents Java updates installing all sorts of junk like McAfee AV or the likes. I am not sure what the current junk that comes with Java is, but whatever it is (and it could change) you don't want to have it accidentally installed when in future updating Java! Of course, that one comes un-ticked by default, so you want to tick that one to prevent 'malware' being installed with the Java updates.

Bri

PS On my Twonky trees page, there are links to the Qnap version of Twonky, but I am not sure if that old version works on the 64 bit versions of QTS (I must test that at some stage forward). At the moment, I use MinimServer for my main collection and Twonky 6.0.39 for my older 3 Qnap units and on the new one (with the 64 bit OS) I am running the current version (downloaded from Twonky and using one of my spare keys) with the artist container tweaked into an albumArtist container (and it works quite well).


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

KDS/1 (music) + ADSM (AV) -> KK/1 -> 350A + miniDSP time & phase aligned 345 rear sub
KDS Renew -> Homebrew fixed attenuator -> 2250/D -> 212 and Sizmik front sub (bedroom)
MDSI -> 104C (awaiting installation in my kitchen)
MDSI -> Shahinian Arc (installed at my mum's house)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 13:00
Post: #6
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
By the way Briain - no need for MinimWatch for anything other than detailed configuration/properties. If you're happy with the defaults, you can set the content directory(s) and perform rescans through Konfig Wink

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [DS214play +Jitterbug, MinimServer], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 13:13 (This post was last modified: 2017-10-02 13:17 by Briain.)
Post: #7
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
(2017-10-02 13:00)timster Wrote:  By the way Briain - no need for MinimWatch for anything other than detailed configuration/properties. If you're happy with the defaults, you can set the content directory(s) and perform rescans through Konfig Wink

Ah, thank you for that update! To be honest, I haven't used MinimWatch since initially setting it all up (I have a few menu customisations) and for rescans, I have installed a small script called 'min.sh' which comprises the below lines:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/MinimServer/
./minimserver.sh restart
exit 0
(can't quite think why I used two lines for that; maybe too much wine when I did it)

And part of my autorun.sh script contains the below lines (to create a symbolic link called 'min' to the above script):

Code:
if [ -L /usr/local/bin/min ]; then
    echo "MinimServer symbolic link exists." >> /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Public/autorun.log
else
        /bin/ln -sf /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Scripts/min.sh /usr/local/bin/min
fi

So to rescan, I simply ssh into the NAS (of course, I have set up RSA keys so no need to type a password; I really am rather a lazy sod) then simply type 'min' and it rescans the media.

Bri Smile

KDS/1 (music) + ADSM (AV) -> KK/1 -> 350A + miniDSP time & phase aligned 345 rear sub
KDS Renew -> Homebrew fixed attenuator -> 2250/D -> 212 and Sizmik front sub (bedroom)
MDSI -> 104C (awaiting installation in my kitchen)
MDSI -> Shahinian Arc (installed at my mum's house)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 13:19
Post: #8
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
Someone who goes to the effort to write scripts and all the other things you get up to Briain, can hardly be called lazy!
The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy... Briain? Doesn't work Wink

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [DS214play +Jitterbug, MinimServer], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 19:41
Post: #9
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
Briain, you just made me realize I made a big mistake installing the Java consolle!!! so tonight my main focus is to check what I've done to my pc!!!
Personally speaking I haven't looked into the issue of a server since the old good days when I installed your custom tree in twonky and life was super easy! now I'm a bit puzzled because I'm pretty sure I'll be fine if I go that path again, unless Qnap makes changes to the software that impair Twonky functionality. so I guess the question is.. should I install bot Twonky and Nimim? or kazoo too? is there any known issue of conflict?

anyway I agree with Timster, the effort you've made to develop something SO useful for the community is very "admirable" (sorry I couldn't think of a better term). Smile
will get back to you asap. I also have to "play" with the new switches on the back of my recently upgraded Groove SRX phono stage. Smile lot of work to do, with kids claiming the use of pc while I write.. Smile

Rock 7/Groove SRX+, Renew DS/1, D'agostino, W/A Alexia
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-10-02, 19:54 (This post was last modified: 2017-10-02 20:01 by Briain.)
Post: #10
RE: Kazoo on QNAP
Hi

Java is perfectly safe, but it is also extremely 'powerful' so it is also wise to prevent browser having access to it. It isn't as bad as it used to be; for a while, there were mega-critical Java patches being released almost every other week (to the extent that someone rather cleverly suggested that Java was actually an acronym for 'Just Another Security Vulnerability')! Big Grin

Back on track and I think that you will really like MinimServer; I would now not consider using anything else (since Simon Nash bribed me - with a barrel whisky - to say so; merely kidding, of course)! Seriously though, it really is quite excellent and thus I would highly recommend it.

The one thing that I didn't like was that the 'Items' menu (which is a tracks menu) shows album art (not much use if you are trying to scan a huge list of tunes; the art is actually a distraction) but even that can be sorted by creating a custom menu (I called my one 'Tunes') so yes, I would recommend that give it a shot (even though I didn't actually get a barrel of whisky from Simon)! Wink

Bri

PS You can run several media servers on one device (e.g. on one NAS). As mentioned above, I run both Twonky and MinimServer, with the former being for my archive collection and the latter being for my main collection. I have also briefly tried running the Qnap version of a media server (Music Station, Photo Station and Video Station can all be turned into a UPnP server via installing Qnap's Media Streaming Add-on) and that also worked without conflicting with MinimServer or Twonky (and thus I would imagine that Linn's Kazoom could also be installed and run without any conflict). I ended up abandoning Qnap's one as there was no option to use the AlbumArtist values, but other than that, it did seem to work very well.

KDS/1 (music) + ADSM (AV) -> KK/1 -> 350A + miniDSP time & phase aligned 345 rear sub
KDS Renew -> Homebrew fixed attenuator -> 2250/D -> 212 and Sizmik front sub (bedroom)
MDSI -> 104C (awaiting installation in my kitchen)
MDSI -> Shahinian Arc (installed at my mum's house)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)