Linn Forums

Current time: 2017-10-21, 09:27 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Getting Started / Ask a Question v / Axis Niggles

Axis Niggles
2017-10-06, 15:59
Axis Niggles
Hi All, firstly apologies for any wrong-doings, first post on here. I'm also far from a certified audiophile, I was fortunate enough to be gifted my turntable so I'm new to most of this, about 2 years in now with a modest system I'm happy with built gradually on a very tight budget.

Ok so I have an Axis, factory standard with Basik tonearm, swapped out old K9 for AT95e as K9 was getting on a bit. I have ironed out most of the set-up problems but some remain (the "starting up at 45rpm phenomenon" took a while to figure out!)

My niggles:

1) Tone-arm buzzing, when I pick up or touch the tone-arm by the fingerlift I get a strong buzzing sound through the speakers. Initially I thought this was an earth problem as the tone-arm earth wire (underneath) was missing. I had this replaced and buzzing has decreased but still present. Any thoughts?

2) Tone-arm set up, I have had this set up by a friend but I'm not sure if it is correct. They set up the counterweight and tracking dial while intentionally leaving the bias/antiskate at zero. Is this common? I have on occasion just clipped the corner of the plinth when about to lift the tone-arm at the end of a record and the stylus has easily bounced up and slid onto the inner label. is this related to the zero antiskate or just my clumsiness? Is there a perfect set up video clip out there somewhere?

3) An OCD related issue, the power/speed button label has been mounted very slightly skewwhiff (spelling?) and it just looks untidy. I would prefer if there was no label at all. Is there a safe way of removing the label without risk of damaging / peeling the top surface of the deck? If not I'll leave it.