Linn Forums

Current time: 2017-12-13, 13:46 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn Music Systems & Hi-fi Separates / Network Music Players & Music Streamers v / Klimax DSM and headphone amp

Post Reply 
Klimax DSM and headphone amp
2017-08-28, 13:57
Post: #1
Klimax DSM and headphone amp
Hi
I am blessed to have a Linn Klimax dsm
I have a Chord power amp with xlr inputs (and rca but prefer to use the XLR)
I would like to occasionally use headphones and have a headphone amp with rca inputs only
I would not be using both at the same time
My understanding is in order to achieve optimum sonic performance I would need to go round the back of the Klimax and plug in the rca headphone amp cable to the rca output and switch off the Power Amp.
Is this correct?
It seems a lot of flaff
Is there any other way to do it?
I have moved away from Naim to avoid the transformer hum and hiss out of the speakers, hence the reason for keeping the system as quiet as possible
I would be happy to get a headphone amp with xlr inputs and get a "y"cable made up XLR to 2 XLR so I could attach it to both amps and only have one switched on at a time.
Ideas and experience would be appreciated
Many thanks in anticipation
Marvan
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 09:08
Post: #2
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
Hi

I don't know if this is "correct", but this is way I am using my headphone amp with my KDSM, with some satisfaction I would say: XLR to normal amp, RCA to headphone amp.

I think you can even use both of them (RCA and XLR) in the same time: when optimising, Konfig rencognize the 2 outputs and allows you to use both. Of course, if RCA is headphone amp, get it out of the SO.

KDSM + KCT/A212 + KEBox/3xKCT/Activ Kef Ref 5 - Qobuz + NUC/HDPLEX - Nordost, Audioquest
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 09:18 (This post was last modified: 2017-08-29 09:21 by JPO2005.)
Post: #3
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
I would not make it so because it very likely the sound worsened. But take a small streamer like the Raspberry with a DAC (https://www.hifiberry.com/products/dacpl...uct-specs) or the Devil Streamer.

Have a look here: https://forums.linn.co.uk/bb/showthread....t=streamer

Greetings Jörn (sorry for my awful english)
Hörland - Over 40 years LINN
Open Source Seite: http://www.jpo-aktuell.de/OpenSource.php

New LP12, Radikal, Urika, Kore, Ekos SE, Kristal / QNAP 569 Pro / RME UCX
Akurate Exakt DSM2 / Kinsky (Minim) - Sneaky
Akubarik with Amp Stands / Silvercable - Unik / K200
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 09:27
Post: #4
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
If your KDSM is Katalyst you'll be wanting to use the DAC I presume. If not, is it still the case you want to use it's DAC? If so, I think buoarb may be onto something if it works for him. But you will have to turn off SO when using the headphones.
Otherwise, I believe the SPDiF can be configured as an output, so if you don't currently use it, you could always use that if you don't mind buying a headphone amp with a decent DAC that takes a digital input.

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 09:35
Post: #5
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
Maybe Linn should think about producing a Katalyst headphone amp Wink

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 11:38 (This post was last modified: 2017-08-29 11:39 by Music at Home.)
Post: #6
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
(2017-08-29 09:27)timster Wrote:  I believe the SPDiF can be configured as an output, so if you don't currently use it, you could always use that if you don't mind buying a headphone amp with a decent DAC that takes a digital input.

For a Klimax DSM owner, that could be an Akurate DSM/1

(2017-08-29 09:35)timster Wrote:  Maybe Linn should think about producing a Katalyst headphone amp Wink

... hold on, make that Akurate DSM/2 Wink

ADSM/1 -> ATC SCM19A's
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 16:48
Post: #7
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
Hi
Thanks for everyone's helpful input
JPO2005- Were you referring to making the Y xlr cable when you said "I would not make it so because it very likely the sound worsened"
Timster- Yes it is a katalyst and it would be a shame if I didn't use the world class electronics in the KDSM
Music at home- I agree. I don't understand why the Klimax doesn't have a headphone socket

Any other experiences or advice
Best wishes
Marvan
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 17:11
Post: #8
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
Then you really want to use the analogue out in some way.
I have to say, if Katalyst does come to Akurate DS's, then Linn will seriously have to consider a headphone jack for the Klimax's. One of the things I've learnt about Linn - the more you pay, the less you get functionality wise.

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 18:21
Post: #9
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
Well, I see this so that the climax uncompromisingly the sound is in the foreground. A Y-cable changes the electrical values, so also for the connection to the amp. This is my opinion not at all. Even if you pull the cable you have an open cable. Therefore, I would start where it does not affect your system in any way. So by network cable a small streamer works as a headphone amplifier. In the link above are some who run the Raspberry as streamer, but ask because the quality is. Even the little Teufel Streamer does not sound so bad.

Greetings Jörn (sorry for my awful english)
Hörland - Over 40 years LINN
Open Source Seite: http://www.jpo-aktuell.de/OpenSource.php

New LP12, Radikal, Urika, Kore, Ekos SE, Kristal / QNAP 569 Pro / RME UCX
Akurate Exakt DSM2 / Kinsky (Minim) - Sneaky
Akubarik with Amp Stands / Silvercable - Unik / K200
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-29, 18:50
Post: #10
RE: Klimax DSM and headphone amp
(2017-08-29 09:08)bouarb Wrote:  Hi

I don't know if this is "correct", but this is way I am using my headphone amp with my KDSM, with some satisfaction I would say: XLR to normal amp, RCA to headphone amp.

I think you can even use both of them (RCA and XLR) in the same time: when optimising, Konfig rencognize the 2 outputs and allows you to use both. Of course, if RCA is headphone amp, get it out of the SO.


LinnDocs Wrote:Only use the XLR(8) output OR the RCA(9) output, never use both outputs as the RCA will degrade the XLR(8) output audio.

http://docs.linn.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Kl...T_Variant)

AEDSM > KEB/1 x 2 > Linn Silvers > A4200/1 x 2 > K200 > MISOs
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)