Linn Forums

Current time: 2018-01-16, 10:58 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn Music Systems & Hi-fi Separates / Network Music Players & Music Streamers v / using linn ads with out laptop

Post Reply 
using linn ads with out laptop
2017-08-30, 21:34 (This post was last modified: 2017-08-30 21:36 by stuart1471.)
Post: #1
using linn ads with out laptop
I have a ADS and I use iTunes on my laptop to control it with iTunes remote on a tablet.
But my wife does not like using the laptop
So I was looking for a nas that I can plug in to my network and still use ituns or another remote way of playing my music
I will buy a tablet so it has a better screen to see the albums on.
Can I use just a nas and a tablet without the laptop
I have about 10000 tracks of music I want to put on it with a back up
and would a ipad be better then another tablet using android
Thanks in advance
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 06:16
Post: #2
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
I assume your music is currently on the laptop? And you use iTunes to play it, directing the sound to the ADS rather than using a control point?
If you use a NAS instead (copying all the music to it obviously) you can ditch iTunes and use a decent music server, such as MinimServer. No need for the laptop.
Control device is your choice. iPad, Windows tablet (cheaper) or Android (also cheaper). I don't think there's much difference, but the control point software of choice will depend on it. ie. Lumin only available on iPad, Bubble only on Android. Kazoo is on all three.

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 06:50
Post: #3
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
https://smile.amazon.de/TS-431P-Powerful...words=qnap

Greetings Jörn (sorry for my awful english)
Hörland - Over 40 years LINN
Open Source Seite: http://www.jpo-aktuell.de/OpenSource.php

New LP12, Radikal, Urika, Kore, Ekos SE, Kristal / QNAP 569 Pro / RME UCX
Akurate Exakt DSM2 / Kinsky (Minim) - Sneaky
Akubarik with Amp Stands / Silvercable - Unik / K200
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 06:57
Post: #4
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
You can either buy a QNAP or Synology NAS and I would suggest buying the cheapest 2 drive modelin your area -if- you only plan to use it for music and normal backups. If you want to use the NAS to convert/play video content too, a beefier one might be a good idea.

Don't forget to make external backups too: you wouldn't want to find out what happeneed to your music collection after a lightning strike or something like that. If you buy an external USB harddrive and connect that to your NAS once per week/month, that will give you a nice extra layer of protection.

And for the rest, Timster already explained most of it.

Tin can telephone system.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 07:12
Post: #5
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
(2017-08-31 06:57)Tin Wrote:  ...

And for the rest, Timster already explained most of it.

Most? Wha'd I miss? Wink
Ummm. Music Servers for a NAS?
KazooServer - only QNAP. Basic functionality. Free.
MinimServer - all platforms. Probably the best music server in the world. Free/Donationware.
AssetUPnP - only QNAP. Probably 2nd best. Not free ( think it's around 15 gbp)
Ummm.
Wha'd else?
Wink

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 08:43
Post: #6
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
(2017-08-31 07:12)timster Wrote:  
(2017-08-31 06:57)Tin Wrote:  ...

And for the rest, Timster already explained most of it.

Most? Wha'd I miss? Wink
Ummm. Music Servers for a NAS?
KazooServer - only QNAP. Basic functionality. Free.
MinimServer - all platforms. Probably the best music server in the world. Free/Donationware.
AssetUPnP - only QNAP. Probably 2nd best. Not free ( think it's around 15 gbp)
Ummm.
Wha'd else?
Wink
That NASs come pre installed with a music server that will suit most people who are not planning to become librarians of their music collection?

Tin can telephone system.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 09:10
Post: #7
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
(2017-08-31 08:43)Tin Wrote:  
(2017-08-31 07:12)timster Wrote:  
(2017-08-31 06:57)Tin Wrote:  ...

And for the rest, Timster already explained most of it.

Most? Wha'd I miss? Wink
Ummm. Music Servers for a NAS?
KazooServer - only QNAP. Basic functionality. Free.
MinimServer - all platforms. Probably the best music server in the world. Free/Donationware.
AssetUPnP - only QNAP. Probably 2nd best. Not free ( think it's around 15 gbp)
Ummm.
Wha'd else?
Wink
That NASs come pre installed with a music server that will suit most people who are not planning to become librarians of their music collection?

Ahah. Well spotted. The Synology one is quite good. I know nowt about QNAP, even if it comes with one.

Umm.
Network cables? A pair of nice Audioquest Forest for entry level but better than bog standard.
Jitterbug?
Ummm.
We could get carried away Wink

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 09:41
Post: #8
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
Hi all
And thanks for your reply's
Yes I was using iTunes and going straight to the ds.
Could you give me the models of some good 2 slot nas as I only need 1 for music and the other as a back up
Again thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 09:47 (This post was last modified: 2017-08-31 09:48 by timster.)
Post: #9
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
(2017-08-31 09:41)stuart1471 Wrote:  Hi all
And thanks for your reply's
Yes I was using iTunes and going straight to the ds.
Could you give me the models of some good 2 slot nas as I only need 1 for music and the other as a back up
Again thanks

It won't be a backup. The common usage of a 2-bay is called RAID, which basically means it has two drives with the same data, but only as redundancy rather than backup (one fails and the NAS will still work using the other until you replace the failed one). You need an external backup too. I'd recommend WD Red drives (2 or 3 TB) for the NAS drives, and any USB drive for the backup (I use a WD MyBook).


Depending on whether you want QNAP or Synology really. Mine is good and not too expensive. QNAP seem more popular though.

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-08-31, 12:46
Post: #10
RE: using linn ads with out laptop
(2017-08-31 09:47)timster Wrote:  It won't be a backup. The common usage of a 2-bay is called RAID, which basically means it has two drives with the same data, but only as redundancy rather than backup (one fails and the NAS will still work using the other until you replace the failed one). You need an external backup too. I'd recommend WD Red drives (2 or 3 TB) for the NAS drives, and any USB drive for the backup (I use a WD MyBook).

+1 What he said! Big Grin

The two drives in the NAS should be configured as RAID 1.

I have 2 x 3TByte WD Reds that I use for backups in a hard drive external caddy e.g. ICY DOCK connected by USB 3.0 to my QNAP NAS. I rotate the drives and always keep one at work.

Unidisk SC | Majik LP12 | Trampolin 2 | Lingo 3.
Akurate DSM/2 | Akurate Exaktbox 10 | 2 x Akurate 4200/1 | Exakt dual-mono Keilidhs
Raspberry Pi 2 Model B | IQAudio Pi-DAC+ | Audiolab 8000A | AR28s.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)