Linn Forums

Current time: 2017-12-14, 22:01 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn Music Systems & Hi-fi Separates / Network Music Players & Music Streamers v / Weiss DAC2

Post Reply 
Weiss DAC2
2017-11-26, 23:03
Post: #1
Weiss DAC2
Hi,

is there anybody using the Weiss DAC2 with digi out from Akurate or Sneaky?

My DAC2 is not synchron with 44,1 kHz and 88,2 kHz, when start playing 24bit formats. It takes up to 120 seconds until i can hear music with my STAX
headphones.

Any idea?

Thx

Ronald
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-11-27, 12:16
Post: #2
RE: Weiss DAC2
(2017-11-26 23:03)Ronald Wrote:  Hi,

is there anybody using the Weiss DAC2 with digi out from Akurate or Sneaky?

My DAC2 is not synchron with 44,1 kHz and 88,2 kHz, when start playing 24bit formats. It takes up to 120 seconds until i can hear music with my STAX
headphones.

Any idea?

Thx

Ronald

When I used to use a Majik DS with an external DAC I tried out the Weiss DAC2 and had a similar issue - i.e. whenever you change sampling frequency or bit depth it would take a short while (2-3 seconds in my case) to lock onto the new signal. I sent the DAC back... Sorry if this doesn't solve your problem but I guess at least you can now assume the issue is with the DAC.

Cheers

Paul

Tranquil WHS/Asset + Ipad (Kinsky) - Mytek DAC 192 - Mark Levinson ML380S -Anthem D2v - ATC SCM50A / ATC C4 / ATC SCM20A - 3x Sneaky DS - Auralic Aries Mini
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-11-27, 14:38
Post: #3
RE: Weiss DAC2
Just out of curiosity, why would you use a Linn streamer as a transport only? If you want to use another DAC there are enough cheaper, much cheaper, transports possible.

Tin can telephone system.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-11-27, 16:19
Post: #4
RE: Weiss DAC2
(2017-11-27 14:38)Tin Wrote:  Just out of curiosity, why would you use a Linn streamer as a transport only? If you want to use another DAC there are enough cheaper, much cheaper, transports possible.

because my AKURATE EXAKT DSM has no analog outputs to feed my STAX headphone........
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-11-27, 17:00
Post: #5
RE: Weiss DAC2
Try the Oppo HA-1, it is well thought of.

Akurate EDSM | Majik ExaktBox-I [on Custom Design iRAPs] | Majik 140, REL T5
Rega RP1, [QNAP HS-251+, Jitterbug, MinimServer, Asset], Kazoo [Linx1010]

AV: Marantz NR1506 | B&W 620(C), M1(S), REL T5 (LFE) | Fronts powered by Linn
Net: NetGear DGN2200 | GS108 | AQ Forest x3

Hello to Jason Isaacs
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-11-27, 22:44
Post: #6
RE: Weiss DAC2
(2017-11-27 17:00)timster Wrote:  Try the Oppo HA-1, it is well thought of.

thx for advice, but the oppo is sold out in germany
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2017-11-27, 23:00
Post: #7
RE: Weiss DAC2
Have you tried fixing the output bitrate? See Linndocs: http://docs.linn.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Ko...utput_Mode

I don't use digital out and have never tried, so not much help really Smile

ADs/2 -> Klimax Exaktbox/1 -> Silvers -> 2xKCT/D -> K200 -> Ninka
Exaktbox Sub - BK Sub
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)