Linn Forums

Current time: 2018-05-21, 21:41 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Getting Started / Ask a Question v / Linn Axis Newbie

Linn Axis Newbie
2018-05-18, 12:06 (This post was last modified: 2018-05-18 13:40 by sgt pepper.)
Shy Linn Axis Newbie
I should be taking delivery of what looks a Linn Axis in great condition later today. As I am a relative newbie to the world of HiFi and Linn ownership, any advice or tips the good members here can give will be most appreciated.Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-05-18, 12:29 (This post was last modified: 2018-05-18 12:30 by DavidHB.)
RE: Linn Axis Newbie
Every good wish for your new acquisition. Do you know what arm and cartridge are fitted?

IIRC, the power supply on the Axis stays 'live', even when the TT is not running. This is something to watch out for; get the deck properly installed and connected before you plug it into the mains. Others here can advise on the maintainability aspects of this feature.

The other standard piece of advice is that, if you are buying or acquiring the deck privately, it makes sense to have it checked over by a dealer at the earliest opportunity. The Axis is not an LP12, but it won't be in the first flush of youth either. If the belt hasn't been changed in a long while, that may be something to do. and a check (if only for safety purposes) on the power supply aforesaid would probably not go amiss, either. The dealer can also check the arm bearings and the state of the cartridge.

Most of all, enjoy.

David

Main system: [Basik/Basik+/K5/Lejonklou Gaio >][Roksan Kandy Mk III >] KEDSM > Akurate Exaktbox 10/1 > Linn Silvers> A4200 x 2 and A2200 > K600 > Akubariks
Second system: Kiko
2018-05-18, 13:10
(2018-05-18 12:29)DavidHB Wrote:  Every good wish for your new acquisition. Do you know what arm and cartridge are fitted?