Linn Forums

Current time: 2018-06-23, 16:27 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Linn Forums / Linn Music Systems & Hi-fi Separates / Network Music Players & Music Streamers v / Nas problem and question, please help!

Nas problem and question, please help!
2018-06-14, 01:39
Nas problem and question, please help!
I am not tech savvy. I have been using a Qnap HS210 for 3-4 years without much problem, however, in the last week, although the DS plays normally, the Nas' led started to flash red instead of a constant green, and I noticed I could only access one drive. By calling qnap support they ran a remote test and found both drives could be bad, and suggested me to replace one at first and see how it goes, and it it does not go well I may end up replacing the whole unit.

I am surprised that I may need to replace both WD red drives, and maybe the nas unit too after using them for only 3- 4 years. Also, I did a little research, I noticed they do not make the slim Qnap nas like mine anymore. I am not sure if it is a good idea to continue using the HS210. Should I go for something new? Also, I noticed there are now several models of 1 bay nas drive---at very reasonable price---with cloud back up, are they any good? Do they work well with Linn DS? By the way, I do not mind backing up an additional copy of my music on a separate external drive which I have already done, just wonder if it is a good idea or not to go with a 1 bay nas drive. I would appreciate your input and suggestion of what to do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
2018-06-14, 06:20
RE: Nas problem and question, please help!
I’ve been using one bay QNAPs all the time and backing up to a couple of external disks regularly. The disks are stored at my work and my better half’s work. I haven’t seen the one bay NAS as a limitation. The backup scheme is simple and safe, as long as I remember to bring the disks home every now and then.

/HansBertil